Born Wicked

When I got Born Wicked for review, I dragged my feet on the road to reading it. Aside from Harry Potter, the genre including witches, wizards, and prophecies doesn’t particularly interest me. I deserve a smack on the head with a wet noodle for underestimating this book, because it was awesome!

When I started Born Wicked I was iffy about the plot because in some ways it is very mainstream (ie. Love triangle, dead parent, etc.). For a while I was disappointed in the plot, and then the unexpected twists started coming into play that completely changed the book, and sent it in a new direction.

Born Wicked made me appreciate my freedoms, and rights as a girl living in the U.S., in the 21st century. In this book, women are treated very poorly, and men have numerous advantages over women. While this book has a fantasy element in play, it also deals with real world problems.

The Salem Witch Trials element in this novel is very creative. In Chatham (the city that the book takes place) the women in the town get arrested and sent to prisons and asylums if they are suspected of being witches (extremely original!). After reading the book, I was so intrigued and interested in this piece of the plot, that I had to research the Salem Witch Trials.

When I finished Born Wicked, my jaw dropped and my eyebrows went up in exasperation. I thought: This can. not. be. the. end. I. Need. More!!! The book ended very realistically, and not in a fairytalesque way. When I was through, I was dying for more of the story. I am very impressed with Jessica Spotswood’s debut novel! I am so happy that I picked up Wicked, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a quick and intriguing read.

– Erin, age 13

About the Book:
Title: Born Wicked
Author: Jessica Spotswood
Release Date: 02/2012

Leave a Reply

