Wither

First of all, I just want to say that I think the cover of this book is gorgeous! I love the lines that lead from the circles, and the dress is so ruffly and extravagant! I just love it! So cover = 2 thumbs up! However, the Fever (Chemical Garden Trilogy #2) cover, I don’t like so much. But that’s a different review…

I started Wither because I got Fever (Chemical Garden Trilogy #2) in the mail a few weeks ago and just couldn’t stand to read Fever if I hadn’t read the first one. I’d heard great things about Wither but I was still reluctant. After reading the synopsis on the front flap I thought that the book would be a dark, confusing dystopian novel.

Wither starts out dark. Very dark. I mean, Rhine is taken from her home and forced into a marriage. She is like a prisoner in her own home. Actually, the whole world in this book left me in mortal terror. Also, at first I despised both of Rhine’s sister wives as well. (although I came around for Jenna eventually)

As the book progresses it becomes more light hearted. Rhine meets Gabriel, a servant, who becomes the love interest, and she also gets more freedom and is able to go outside and play with her sister wives, Cecily and Jenna. But when Cecily gets pregnant and Gabriel is relocated and all this other bad stuff (I won’t say what because that would ruin the book) starts to happen, the book becomes darker and gloomier again.

However, the end of this book is completely thrilling and such a cliff hanger! I was so glad I had Fever at the ready so I could pick up where I left off in the first one. And even before the ending there are tons of plot twists throughout the book that were totally unexpected.

I’m not going to dumb it down, this book is creepy and utterly terrifying in many ways. Rhine’s husband’s father, Vaughn, is one of the creepiest characters I have ever read. Really, he was in one of my dreams the other night. Yeah, he’s totally psycho and if he doesn’t scare you then I don’t know what will.

Overall, I really enjoyed Wither. It’s one of those books that chilled me to the bone, but also one with valuable lessons I won’t forget. The world created in this book really is unforgettable. Wither drew me in so much that I would just sit down with it and read 100 pages at a time. If you haven’t read it, I highly, highly recommend it. (as long as you don’t mind being creeped out/in mortal terror) 🙂

 –Meredith, age 14
About the Book:
Title: Wither
Author:Lauren DeStefano
Release Date: 03/2011
2 thoughts on “Wither

  1. Pingback: Fever « BookPeople's Austin Teen Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Fever « BookPeople Teen Press Corps

Leave a Reply

