Between Shades of Grey

First off, I would like to say that sometimes I find Historical Fiction a bit boring. That was not the case with this novel. It it quite the opposite of that actually. I think this book might have inspired me to start reading more historical fiction actually.Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys is a very powerful story about a girl who is unexpectedly taken away from her home along with her mother and brother. She travels around the Russia area and is treated like dirt.

To be honest, it was an aspect of World War 2 that I really had no idea about until I read the book. The book explains why no one knows about this part of World War 2. So if you’re wondering, read the book. This really is an incredibly well written story. It made me think, “that could be me.” Because the main character, Lena, is no different than the rest of us. The characters in the book are very well developed, and I love how Lena refers to the other people not by their names, but what they do. (i.e. the man who winds his watch)

I also love the cover! Paperback and Hardcover. It’s such a simple yet dramatic cover that perfectly portrays the novel.

Having no prior knowledge to this aspect of World War 2, the concept was a little confusing for me. I ended up having to talk to my mom and she explained it to me. The map at the beginning of the book was quite useful though, so use the map. Also the epilogue/afterward explains some too.

Lastly, make sure you have a tissue box near you while reading this book, just a heads up on that. It is quite sad at parts. I highly, highly recommend Between Shades of Gray! To learn more about Between Shades of Gray find it on Goodreads, here. Or go to The Fantastic Between Shades of Gray Website, here.

— Meredith, age 14
About the Book:
Title: Between Shades of Grey
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Release Date: 03/2011
Leave a Reply

